Links

Here are some important links used to prepare for The Wabakimi Project canoe trips that will also be of value to paddlers planning to visit Northwestern Ontario on their own. Suggestions for the inclusion of links to other sites would be welcome.

The Wabakimi Project

Canoeing, Camping & Fishing

Ontario Parks - OntarioParks.com
Crown Land Camping - mnr.gov.on.ca/en/Business/CrownLand...
Crown Land Camping Regulations - canlii.org/en/on/laws/...
Fishing Regulations - ontario.ca/page/fishing
Hunting Regulations - ontario.ca/page/hunting

On-line Maps

MNRF Crown Land Use Policy Atlas - ontario.ca/page/crown-land-use-policy-atlas
MNRF Forest Plans - ontario.ca/forestplans
Ministry of Northern Development & Mines (MNDM) - mndm.gov.on.ca
Natural Resources Canada - nrcan-rncan.gc.ca/com/index-eng.php
Google Maps (Canada) - google.ca/maps
MapQuest - mapquest.com
Yahoo Maps! (Canada) - ca.maps.yahoo.com
ACME Mapper 2.0 - mapper.acme.com
Global Forest Change - earthenginepartners.appspot.com

Equipment Suppliers

Souris River Canoes - sourisriver.com
Grey Owl Paddles - greyowlpaddles.com
Eureka Tents - eurekatent.com

Freeze-dried Food Suppliers

Oregon Freeze Dry, Inc. (Mountain House) - mountainhouse.com

Thunder Bay Retail Suppliers

Chaltrek Geological Supplies Inc. - www.chaltrek.com
Wilderness Supply Company Ltd. - wildernesssupply.com
Gear Up for Outdoors Ltd. - gear-up.com
Take A Hike - takeahike.ca

Paddling Events

Wilderness Canoe Symposium (WC) - wcsymposium.com
Canoecopia - rutabaga.com/canoecopia
Quiet Water Symposium (QWS) - quietwatersymposium.org
Adventure Guide Armchair Series - advguide.com
Nova Craft Guest Speaker Series - londonspaddleshop.com
Far North Symposium - mncanoe.org
Outdoor Adventure Expo - outdooradventureexpo.com
Toronto Outdoor Adventure & Travel Show - outdooradventureshow.ca
Ottawa Outdoor Adventure Show - ottawaoutdoors.ca

Paddling Forums

Canadian Canoe Routes (CCR) - myccr.com
Song of the Paddle - songofthepaddle.co.uk
Paddling.net - paddling.net
About.com - paddling.about.com
Outdoor Adventure Canada - outdooradventurecanada.com
Ottertooth.com - ottertooth.com
Canoeing.com - canoeing.com
Quiet Journey - quietjourney.com

Paddling Blogs

Reflections on the Outdoors Naturally - reflectionsoutdoors.wordpress.com
Wabakimi 2010: Journey to the Centre of the Universe - web.me.com/albinger/wabakimi2010/Home.html
Charlotte and John's Travels - charandjohntravels.com
The Wabakimi Project - www.kaydi.ca/?p=1300

Conservancy Efforts & Events

The Great Wilderness Cleanup - wildernesscleanup.com
The Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup - vanaqua.org/cleanup
Earth Day Canada - earthday.ca
National Wildlife Week - nationalwildlifeweek.ca
Leave No Trace Canada - leavenotrace.ca
National Canoe Day - nationalcanoeday.net
World Environment Day - unep.org/wed/2010/english

Visiting Northwestern Ontario

Tourism

Ontario Ministry of Tourism - ontariotravel.net/outdoor
Ontario Canada Travel Information - infonorth.net
North of Superior Tourist Association (NOSTA) - northofsuperior.org
Sunset Country - ontariossunsetcountry.ca
City of Thunder Bay - ThunderBay.ca
City of Thunder Bay Tourism - visitthunderbay.com
Thunder Bay Guest - tbnewswatch.com
Armstrong Resources & Development Corporation (ARDC) - wabakimi.on.ca

Commercial Passenger Service

Air Canada (Jazz) - aircanada.com
WestJet - westjet.com
Porter - flyporter.com
VIA Rail - viarail.ca

Highway Directions, Road Conditions & Road Maps

NWO Road Map - mto.gov.on.ca/english/traveller/map/images/pdf/northont/sheets/Map13.pdf
NWO Road Construction Reports - mto.gov.on.ca/english/traveller/trip/construction_reports-northwestern.shtml
Google Maps (Canada) - google.ca/maps
MapQuest - mapquest.com
Yahoo Maps! (Canada) - ca.maps.yahoo.com

Weather Information

Environment Canada - weatheroffice.gc.ca/canada_e.html
The Weather Network - theweathernetwork.com
Ontario Weather - ontarioweather.com
Northern Lights - swpc.noaa.gov/products/
Lunar Phases - usno.navy.mil/...
Weather Radar - Superior West - weatheroffice.gc.ca/radar/index_e.html?id=XNI

Water Levels

Environment Canada Real-Time Hydrometric Data - wateroffice.ec.gc.ca/google_map/...
OPG Nipigon River Water Levels - opg.com/generating-power/hydro/...

Forest Fire Information

Current Forest Fire Situation - mnr.gov.on.ca/en/Business/AFFM/2ColumnSubPage/268862.html
Current Forest Fire Situation Map - forest.lrc.gov.on.ca/AFFM/fire/interactivemap/firemap_English.htm
Restricted Fire Zones - mnr.gov.on.ca/en/Business/AFFM/2ColumnSubPage/240351.html
Restricted Fire Zones Map - forest.lrc.gov.on.ca/AFFM/fire/interactivemap/RFZ/map.html

Crossing the Canada - U.S.A. International Border

Canada Border Services Agency - cbsa.gc.ca
U.S. Customs & Border Protection - cbp.gov/xp/cgov/travel

Foreign Currency Exchange Rates

Bank of Canada - bank-banque-canada.ca/en/rates/exchange.html




© 2017 Friends of Wabakimi
All Rights Reserved

Website developed, maintained and hosted by Syntaxis On-Line Inc.
(Bill McCarvell, Syntaxis On-Line Inc.)